Timely Information from Arkansas Medicaid
All systems are currently online.
Timely Filing Issues
In an effort to resolve claims denied for eligibility beginning with dates of service on 10/1/2013, Arkansas Medicaid has made modifications to bypass the timely filing edits. Claims are to be submitted electronically. Providers must verify that an eligibility segment for the dates of service in question is available on file and verify that a PCP, if required, is on file before the claim is submitted. Providers will have an open window between October 17, 2016 and April 15, 2017 to submit claims. A listing of permissible reasons for qualifying claims may be obtained on this FAQ document (PDF, new window) along with other pertinent information.
CLAIMS FILED BY PROVIDERS THAT DO NOT QUALIFY UNDER THE IDENTIFIED LISTING WILL BE REVIEWED AND RECOUPED.
Arkansas Medicaid and the Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care (AFMC) will conduct a timely filing webinar on October 7, 2016. Get more information about the webinar.
RSPMI CLAIMS WITH EOB 952 (PCP REQUIRED)
The ICD-10 error that caused RSPMI claims for beneficiaries over age 21 with dates of service on and after 10/1/15 to deny for ERROR CODE 107/EOB 952 (PCP REQUIRED) has been resolved. Suspended claims are being recycled. Providers who had claims deny for EOB 952 can rebill the claims. We appreciate your patience.
Update on the Removal of the 24-day Cap
DMS Program Planning and Development has issued a provider memo to all hospital providers. View or print the memorandum regarding Removal of the 24-day Cap. (Word, new window)
EHR Incentive Program for Eligible Professionals–Meaningful Use Attestation & 2015 EP MU Grace Period Extension
Beginning July 6, 2016, attestations will be accepted for Modified Stage 2 Meaningful Use for both Program Year 2015 and Program Year 2016. MAPIR User Guide for Eligible Professionals, Version 5.7, is now available. (Word, new window)
If you wish to apply for an EP EHR MU incentive payment for Program Year 2015, you must submit your application/attestation by October 4, 2016. A submitted application means that you have registered with the R&A, attested through MAPIR, and completed the MAPIR application by clicking the Submit button.
If you have questions or concerns, please contact the Arkansas Incentive Payment Team (AIPT) at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Arkansas Works 1115 Demonstration Waiver Application
To view the application submitted to CMS go to the following link: AR Works 1115 Demonstration Waiver Application. (PDF, new window)
Proposed Extension Application for and Potential Modifications to the 1115 Demonstration Waiver for the Health Care Independence Program
The Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS), Division of Medical Services (DMS) is providing public notice of its intent to submit to the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) a written application for extension and amendment of the 1115 Demonstration waiver for the Health Care Independence Program and to hold public hearings to receive comments on the extension application to the Demonstration Waiver. The State anticipates submitting an application to amend the Demonstration in fall of 2016 to replace the Health Care Independence Program implemented under the current 1115 waiver authority with Arkansas Works, a program reflecting the features now under consideration by the Governor, the Arkansas Legislative Task Force on Healthcare Reform, and the Arkansas Legislature.
Get more information regarding the public notice and the proposed extension application to 1115 Waiver.
2015 Eligible Hospital (EH) Meaningful Use Attestation
The submission date for EH Meaningful Use will be announced as soon as possible. At this time, we expect a mid to late 2016 date. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Insurance Cards for Private Option Enrollees
Private Option enrollees will not receive Medicaid ID cards but will receive insurance cards from their private health plan issuers. Private Option enrollees will use their private insurance cards to access medical services. Medicaid will provide limited supplemental services for Private Option enrollees, including Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, & Treatment (EPSDT) for 19 and 20 year olds and non-emergency transportation. These services can be accessed using the Medicaid ID number that was sent to the Private Option enrollee in the plan enrollment notice. The Medicaid ID number can be used for retroactive coverage and interim coverage from the eligibility approval date until the date that the qualified health plan takes effect.
Newly eligible adults that are exempt from participation in the Private Option (e.g. medically frail individuals) will be enrolled in fee-for-service Medicaid and will receive a Medicaid ID card.
Frequently Asked Questions about the Arkansas Health Care Independence Program
View or print frequently asked questions about the Arkansas Health
Care Independence Program. (PDF, new window)
Arkansas Medicaid Reports and Data for Public Access
Arkansas Health Care Payment Improvement Initiative
Get more information about the Arkansas Health Care Payment Improvement
Initiative. (HTML, new window)
EHR Incentive Payment Program
You may be eligible for incentive payments or reimbursements of up to $63,750 from Medicaid to help offset the cost associated with implementing an electronic health record system. To find out if you are eligible, use the following links: